You are here

Back to top

Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha #1) (Paperback)

Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha #1) Cover Image
$12.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Spring 2018 Kids’ Indie Next List


“When Zelie was a child, she saw her mother and all magic wiped from existence with a tyrant's single, sweeping order. Now she finds herself tasked with restoring that magic to the land of Orisha, with the aid of her brother and that same tyrant's daughter. As Zelie races against time, she reckons with her newfound abilities and the moral complexities they awaken her to. Adeyemi's debut features truly epic world-building without sacrificing the intimate character development that propels the narrative. Every action combines taut pacing with lucid internal monologue, lending each work of magic or physical blow a palpable emotional weight. Stunning, cinematic, and resonant.”
— Bill Grace, Buttonwood Books & Toys, Cohasset, MA

Description


Don't miss the book Entertainment Weekly calls "a phenomenon." Tomi Adeyemi's Children of Blood and Bone conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her #1 New York Times bestselling West African-inspired young adult fantasy debut.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for an enemy.

Praise for Children of Blood and Bone:

"Perfect for fans of the expansive fantasy worlds of Leigh Bardugo, Daniel José Older, and Sabaa Tahir." Booklist, starred review

"This book, with its movie deal already made, will be the next big thing. It is the perfect book follow-up to the movie, Black Panther, too. . . . Children of Blood and Bone is perfect for fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Nancy Farmer, and Angie Thomas." VOYA, starred review

About the Author


Tomi Adeyemi is the #1 New York Times-bestselling Nigerian-American author of Children of Blood and Bone.

After graduating Harvard University with an honors degree in English literature, she received a fellowship to study West African mythology, religion, and culture in Salvador, Brazil. When she’s not working on her novels or watching BTS music videos, she can be found blogging and teaching creative writing on her website. She lives in San Diego, California.

Praise For…


Praise for Children of Blood and Bone:

“One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of the year.” Teen Vogue

“The next big thing in literature and film.” Ebony

"A phenomenon." —Entertainment Weekly

“Tomi Adeyemi is about to take both the literature and film world by storm.” Jet

“A magnificent, heartrending, earthshaking debut.” New York Times-bestselling author Daniel José Older

"Perfect for fans of the expansive fantasy worlds of Leigh Bardugo, Daniel José Older, and Sabaa Tahir." Booklist, starred review

"This book, with its movie deal already made, will be the next big thing. It is the perfect book follow-up to the movie, Black Panther, too. . . . Children of Blood and Bone is perfect for fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Nancy Farmer, and Angie Thomas." VOYA, starred review

“A refreshing YA fantasy with an all–West African cast of characters that should be on every shelf.”
School Library Journal, starred review

"Book one in the Orïsha Legacy trilogy, Adeyemi’s devastating debut is a brutal, beautiful tale of revolution, faith, and star-crossed love." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Well-drawn characters, an intense plot, and deft writing make this a strong story. That it is also a timely study on race, colorism, power, and injustice makes it great. Powerful, captivating, and raw—Adeyemi is a talent to watch. Exceptional." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“A remarkable achievement.” Campus Lately


Product Details
ISBN: 9781250294623
ISBN-10: 1250294622
Publisher: Square Fish
Publication Date: March 5th, 2019
Pages: 560
Language: English
Series: Legacy of Orisha

*Search results on this website are not a real-time indication of our in-store stock. To see if a title is available for immediate pick-up, please contact us by phone (502-223-8018) or by email (poorrbooks@aol.com). Thank you! *